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Regular Show Fluxx is an easy game to learn because every card carries
its own set of instructions. Many folks find that the best way to learn is
by jumping right into a game, but that usually works best if at least one
player in the group has played a Fluxx game before. So, if this is the first
time for everyone, someone in the group needs to read these rules.

But don’t worry, after you’ve played the game a few times, everyone

will understand!

Place the Basic Rules card in
the center of the table. Shuffle
the deck and deal three cards to
each player. Place the remainder
of the deck face down next to
the Basic Rules to form a Draw
pile. At the beginning of the
game, there will be no Goal or
New Rule cards in play yet.

How to Begin

BASIC | Start by putting
RULES| the Basic Rules

card in the middle
of the table.

Shuffle
the deck.

( GoING FIRsT )

Deal three
There is no rule for who gets to ::::s to
i ide!
go first. You decide! Dlayer.

( How To PLAY )

Fluxx is a game about change, so it’s a game that changes as you
play it. It begins with just a couple of very simple rules, and becomes
more complex as additional rules are added via special cards called
New Rules.

Start by following the Basic Rules (draw one card & play one card), and
adapt to all additional New Rules as they are played. Players take turns,
going clockwise around the table, drawing and playing the indicated
number of cards until someone meets the current Goal condition.

On Your Turn

1) Draw the number of cards currently required.
2) Play the number of cards currently required.

3) Discard down to the current Hand Limit (if any).
4) Comply with the current Keeper Limit (if any).

Optional actions allowed by New Rules, Keepers, etc.,
may be performed at any point during this sequence.

When playing a card, you may choose any card in your hand. If you
aren’t sure how a card works, try reading the full text aloud as you play it.

Sample Game
(in progress)

Keepers are played
face-up on the
table in front of
each player.

Goals are played to the
middle of the table.

BASIC
i

New Rules are played [

W
NEW RULE

next to the Basic
Rules in the middle
of the table.

KEEPER

Actions are used, then
immediately discarded
in the discard pile.

Creepers go
next to your Keepers.

( carp TYPES )

2sic) BASIC RULES: This is the starting point - the foundation
RULES on which the rest of the game is built. These initial rules will be
. superseded by New Rules during the course of play, but this

card should remain on the table at all times. The Basic Rules
are: Draw 1 card per turn and Play 1 card per turn (with no
other restrictions such as Hand or Keeper Limits).

D NEW RULE: To play a New Rule place it face up near the

Basic Rules. If it contradicts a New Rule already in play, discard
the old rule. New Rules take effect instantly, so all players must
immediately follow the New Rule as required. This will often
cause the player whose turn it is to draw or play additional
cards right away, or it may cause other players to immediately
discard some of their cards.

Examples: After drawing 1 card, you play the “Draw 4” New Rule.
Now the rules require you to Draw 4 cards on each turn, but since you
only took 1 card before, you must immediately draw 3 more cards.
The next player draws 4 cards. He plays the “Draw 2” which changes
the rules again, but he draws no more, having already gotten (at least)
2 cards. Since Draw 2 contradicts Draw 4, the Draw 4 is discarded.

GOAL: To play a Goal place it face up in the center of the
table, discarding the previous Goal (if any). The game begins
with no Goal in play, so no one can win until one is played. The
Goal applies to everyone; as soon as someone meets these
conditions, they win! (Even if it’s someone else’s turn!)

KEEPER: To play a Keeper take it out of your hand and
place it on the table in front of you, face up. Most Goals require
you to have a particular pair of Keepers, so playing a Keeper is
always a good thing.

ACTION: Actions are used once and discarded. Just do
3 whatever the card says, then place it on the Discard Pile.

v Actions can sometimes cause major chaos, and yet at other
times, have no effect at all. Note that while some Actions may
cause additional cards to be played, everything that happens
as a result of an Action card is considered part of one “play.”

Examples: If you play the Action called “Draw 2 and Use ‘em” you
will immediately draw two cards and play them both. If one of those
cards is “Draw 3, Play 2 of them” you’d keep going, drawing three
more cards, playing two cards and discarding the third. All of this
activity would be counted as the playing of just one card.

CREEPER: Unlike Keepers, which are things you want

e because they help you win, Creepers are undesirable cards
which often prevent you from winning. Creepers are kept on the
table in front of you in the same area as your Keepers.

Whereas Keepers stay in your hand until you decide to play them,
Creepers are played automatically. As soon as you draw a Creeper you
must place it face up in front of you and draw another card. This does
NOT count as a “play.” You might have to accept more than one Creeper
at once as you draw cards, until you’ve drawn the required number of
non-Creepers and added them to your hand. Note that this is true any
time you draw a card, such as during an Action.

Example: If you play the Action called “Draw 3, Play 2 of them” you
will start by drawing three cards. If any of those cards are Creepers,
you would place them in front of you and redraw immediately until
you have 3 non-Creepers, then you would choose which 2 of those
cards to play.

( winning )

Whenever something mentions
a card “in play”, this refers to

a card that is face up on the
table, but not in the discard pile.

The game continues until someone meets the
conditions of the current Goal. That player wins
instantly, no matter whose turn it is!

If the Draw pile runs out, shuffle the Discard pile, turn
it over to make a new Draw pile, and keep playing.

Regarding Discarding:

Discarding a card is not the same
as playing it. When a card is played
all instructions on that card must

be followed, if possible. You cannot
simply discard unwanted cards; you
can only discard if compelled to by
a Hand Limit. (Yes, this means you
could be forced to play a card that
makes someone else win.)

The game doesn’t end until
there is a clear winner. If for
some reason two or more
players meet the winning
conditions simultaneously, the
game continues until a single
winner emerges.

New players may join at any time by being dealt a hand of three cards.



(( FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ))

Q: What happens if | want to play a New Rule but there’s already
a New Rule in the center on the table? Does it replace the old
New Rule, or do they peacefully co-exist?

A: It all depends on contradictions. There’s no limit on the
number of New Rules that can be in play at once, as long as they
don’t interfere with each other. If the New Rule you are adding
has nothing to do with the existing New Rule, both rules remain.
However, if both rules are about the same thing, for example how
many cards to Draw, then the new card becomes the rule and the
old rule is discarded.

Q: What if a New Rule, such as Play 3,
contradicts the Basic Rules?

A: The New Rule still supersedes the
Basic Rules, but the Basic Rules
card does not get discarded. To help
to avoid confusion, the New Rule can
be placed to cover-up the portion of
Basic Rules it replaces, as shown.

Q: What if the Rules require me to Play 4 but | only have 2 cards?

A: Play as many as you can. Your turn ends when you have no
cards left in your hand, even if you are supposed to play more.

Q: Suppose the rule is Play 2 and for my second play | change
the rules to Play 3. Do | play one more card or am | done because
| played two?

A: All rules take effect immediately, so you would need to play
one more card because the rules at that point had become

Play 3.

Q: How do | interpret the Play All card? If, by playing my cards,
| receive more cards in my hand, do those new cards have to be
played as well, so that | will always end up with zero cards in my
hand at the end of my turn as long as Play All is on the table?

A: Yes.

Q: If | play a Keeper, and | already had a Keeper, do | have to
discard the first one to play the new one? Is there a Limit to the
number of Keepers | can have in play?

A: You can have as many Keepers in front of you as you want,
unless a Keeper Limit New Rule card is played. Even then, you
can play as many Keepers as the current rules will allow during
your turn and only decide which ones to keep and which to
throw away (so as to comply with the Keeper Limit) when your
turn is over.

Q: Suppose there’s a Hand or Keeper Limit rule in play when
my turn begins, but, during the course of my turn, the limit card is
removed and discarded as a result of another Rule card or Action
card. Is it still necessary for me to discard down to the limit that is
no longer in play?

A: Nope! Just as Rules take effect immediately, their effects also
cease the moment the rule disappears.

Q: Does a Hand Limit mean “hold the limit number, unless you
already have fewer cards, in which case hold that lower number”?

A: Yes. It's not a quota that you must draw up to in order to meet,
it’s simply a cap on the number of cards you’re allowed to hold.

Q: When discarding cards because of a Limit rule, do you get to
choose what to discard, or is it random?

A: You get to choose.

Q: Suppose it’s my turn, and the current Goal says you need two
Keepers to win, and | have one of them, and someone else has
the other Keeper on the table. Can | just grab it from him and win?

A: That would be cheating, unless you play the Steal a Keeper
Action card which allows you to do exactly that.

Q: Can | look at the cards in the discard pile?
A: Yes, anyone can look through the discard pile at any time.

Q: How do you get rid of creepers?

A: In this version of Fluxx there are only two creepers, and only a
couple of ways to dispose of them, namely the actions Creeper
Sweeper and Step Off! But both are also useful for winning in a
couple of ways, so look for the goals that use a creeper if you get one.

Q: If the Trade Hands card is played and the rest of the players
have no cards, is that player required to give away the rest of his
cards for nothing in return or is the action optional?

A: If you play the card, you have to carry out the action, so yes,
you’d have to give away the rest of your hand and get nothing in
return if everyone else is empty handed. It says on the card, “This
is one of those times when you can get something for nothing.”
Well, it’s also a time when you might give something away and
get nothing back!

Q: Do | get to play any cards or take any actions when it’s not
my turn?

A: When it’s someone else’s turn, there’s not much you get to
do — there are no cards you can play out of turn. But you will
sometimes need to make minor decisions and perform card
maintenance during other players’ turns. For example, if
someone plays a Hand Limit and you have more cards in your
hand than are allowed, you’ll need to decide what to keep and
what to discard.

Q: Suppose | play Draw 2 and Use ‘em and | draw two Goals,
and one of them will cause my opponent to win. Can | play the
two Goals in instant succession, with the one that doesn’t make
them win on top, so that they don’t get to win?

A: No. Any time a Goal is played, it provides a chance for
someone to win with those conditions. No matter how briefly that
Goal is in play, it counts, and if someone meets the conditions in
that instant, they win.

Q: If you play Use What You Take and pull a Keeper, do you use
it on the person you took it from or does it go in your own
Keeper collection?

A: YOU play the card you stole, so you get to keep the Keeper.

Q: If someone plays Do Me a Solid on me and | have a Keeper
in my hand, do | give that card up immediately or do | wait until |
draw a Keeper in the future?

A: You wait. It’s about the future.

Q: Does using the Time Machine let me take an extra turn after
anybody’s current turn, or just my own?

A: After anybody’s turn. It's a time machine, after all.

Q: When saying Yeahuh! is required, does it count as a “playing”
a Keeper if you gain possession of one through an action like
Steal a Keeper rather than an actual hand-to-table playing of

a Keeper?

A: You should always say “Yeahuh!” just to be safe, but
technically it only matters when it’s an official play.

Q: Can you answer more of my questions on the internet?

A: Yes! Please visit us at LooneyLabs.com for the latest
FAQ updates!

Look for other Looney Labs games at a game store near you:
http://roster.looneylabs.com

( crepits )
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